School of Rock

Opening: 24th October 2016

Booking Period: 13th January 2019

Show Times: Monday-Saturday 19:30, Thursday and Saturday 14:30 & Sunday 15:30

Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes

Venue: Gillian Lynne Theatre (formerly New London)


Social Media: Twitter, Facebook & Instagram


The Show

School of Rock is a musical by Julian Fellowes with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Glenn Slater and it is based on the 2003 film by Mike White starring Jack Black.  The musical follows the story of guitarist and singer Dewey Finn who pretends to be a musical teacher and at a prep school.  After spotting talent among the pupils, he forms a band who then compete in the Battle of the Bands contest.

School of Rock premiered in Broadway’s Winter Garden Theatre on 9th November 2015.


The Cast


Stephen Leask as Dewey Finn

Rosanna Hyland as Rosalie Mullins

Alan Pearson as Ned Schneebly

Michelle Francis as Patty Di Marco

Craig Gallivan as Alternate Dewey


Nick Butcher, Cassandra McCowan, Jessica Louise Parkinson, Andy Rees, Cameron Sharp, Jake Sharp, James Smoker, Wendy Somerville, Andrew Spillett, Hannah Stratton and Alex Tomkins


Paul Kemble, Laura Medforth, Billy Mitchell, Tasha Sheridan and Joshua St. Clair


Zack will be played by Santiago Cerchione, Oscar Rice, and Phoenix Taylor

Freddy will be played by Jasper Bew, Anabel Gracey, and Stanley Jarvis

Lawrence will be played by Gus Graham, Alfie Humphreys, and Austin Kindler

Katie will be played by Anya Cooke, Amelia Leatherland, and Audrey Newman

Summer will be played by Anya Hewett, Aaliyah Monk, and  Freya Yates

Marcy will be played by Heather Clementson, Romanie Jija-Wakeham, and Grace Wood

Shonelle will be played by Vanecia Salam, Tia Stuart, and Shaye Temple

Sophie will be played by Zoe Coleman, Frankie-Mae Garner, and Darcy Snares

Tomika will be played by Tahlia Colbourne, Fayth Ifil, and Aaylia Rose

Billy will be played by Jarvis Baugh, Liam Hewitt, and Jensen York

Mason will be played by Daniel Luniku, Charlie Vyacheslavov, and Jeremiah Waysome

James will be played by Rayyan Chihi, Hugo Dunkley, and Jack Gale



Our reviewers had a rocking good time at School of Rock, giving it ★★★★★ and describing it as “…high-energy, head-banging, electric show, bringing the unlikely combination of classic rock and prestigious, traditional schooling together perfectly.”  To read the full review, click here.

School of Rock is playing at the Gillian Lynne Theatre (formerly New London) and is currently booking until 13th January 2019.  The Gillian Lynne Theatre was opened in 1911 and with several management changes it closed in 1959.  The site was purchased in 1965 and the current theatre was built, opening on 2nd January 1973.

The New London Theatre is owned by Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Really Useful Theatre Group and so the best place to buy tickets for School of Rock is through their website or through the show’s website.  For more information on your visit to the Gillian Lynne Theatre, read our guide.